What happened to The Luxe movie?

What Happened to The Luxe Movie??

I’ve been waiting for my favorite book series, The Luxe by Anna Godbersen, to be made into a movie since 2009. Imagine if Gossip Girl were set in 1899 – and you’ve got The Luxe. Balls, ballgowns, royalty, scandal, forbidden love…these books had it all.

I did a quick google search for “The Luxe movie” and saw that it had been picked up by the producers of Gossip Girl way back in 2011. I found several articles saying the same thing (“The producers see the movie as a young Moulin Rouge, a music-driven story featuring contemporary artists and fashion set against a period backdrop.”) around the same time in 2011 – and then nothing since then. And on IMDB, there is a project titled “The Luxe” and it simply says “in development.” No further information.

So this post is to reach out and ask, what happened to this project?? Does anyone out there know anything about The Luxe movie? I’m dying to know. I just started re-reading the first book in the series, and it made me curious again. My seventeen-year-old self is desperate for a movie adaptation of this beloved book series.

Have you heard anything about The Luxe movie?

4 thoughts on “What Happened to The Luxe Movie??

  1. Kerrie Wilson says:

    I really hope they make the luxe series into either a movie or even a TV series, it’s literally one of my favourite book series yet it’s not something I would have went into a book shop and picked myself, I got the first one as a birthday present for my 19th along with the first hunger games and the first in the house of night series. I’ve read all four of the Luxe books about five times now

    Like

  2. Daniela Rodriguez says:

    I suddenly remembered about this series in 2021 hahaha I read it also as a teenager back in 2009 or 2010, since bridgerton just recently came out on Netflix, I’m really hoping they make a series about the luxe!!

    Like

  3. Kamille says:

    I’ve actually been wondering the same thing! I can’t find any new information on it, which probably means that they decided not to further continue the project..

    Like

Leave a comment